Mango Mousse Recipe – YUMMMM :)

So I finally got my hands of some mango pulp and made a batch of mango mousse! Just thinking about it makes me happy. I LOVE it, and thanks to my friend Abeer’s mom’s fabulous recipe, I get to enjoy it whenever I get a chance. Give it a try, you won’t be sorry:

Mango Mousse

Source: Abeer’s Mom


  • 2/3 Cup of Water for Jello
  • 1/3 Cup of Water for Cornstarch
  • 2- 3 oz. Packages of Lemon Jello
  • 1 Tbls. Cornstarch
  • One- 30 oz. Can Mango Pulp (You can find it at most Indian stores)
  • 1/2 Pint Heavy Cream
  • OPTIONAL: I add the juice of half a lime. Gives it a nice tanginess


  • Boil Water and Dissolve Jello powder
  • Dissolve Cornstarch in 1/3 Cup of water & add to liquid jello
  • Remove Jello and Cornstarch from heat and add can of Mango pulp & stir well
  • Add 1/2 pint heavy cream & stir 2 minutes or until everything is mixed well
  • Pour into a pan and refrigerate overnight

3 thoughts on “Mango Mousse Recipe – YUMMMM :)

  1. Hala!!! You’re very own blog!! How fun, I’m definitely subscribing to it =)
    So my comment to your first post =)
    What brand of jello do you use? The JELLO brand uses gelatin from pig, which is interesting b/c it still conforms to kosher standards. Read below straight from Kraft’s website:

    What is the source of gelatin used in JELL-O gelatin?

    Gelatin is made from collagen, a protein that comes from animals used for food, like beef or pork. Production of gelatin is under supervision of the Food and Drug Administration (FDA). During the manufacturing of gelatin, chemical changes take place so that the final product, the composition, and identity of the original material is completely eliminated. Because of this, gelatin isn’t considered a meat by the United States Government.

    I’ve tried using the halal “jelly” from the halal markets, but my mango mousse never firms up b/c I don’t think they use a halal gelatin in their products and that it’s actually something else altogether.

    So any ideas for an alternative!! I can’t imagine not having mango mousse for the rest of my life =(

  2. Hey hus! I didn’t know that, I just assumed it was kosher! But then again there are different standards for kosher, some sticter than others. ugh. But I think what helps thicken this recipe, is the cornstarch! It makes such a difference. So try it with the other gelatin. I have some of the halal gelatin so I will try it as well. Also, wholefoods has jello that is vegetarian based. I think they use agar agar or something along those lines. Never tried it but it can’t hurt.

    Just a side thought (I have no idea) but with gelatin, if it undergoes so many chemical changes, would it be similar to the way vinegar undergoes so many changes throughout its proces? How it starts off as one thing and then becomes another, chemically speaking?

  3. Hey hus, I just thought about it, try using 3 pks of the halal gelatin and the cornstarch with the same amount of liquid. I think that should hold… 🙂


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s