My Hero…

I’ve been thinking about this for some time.  I recently found out a friend, an acquaintance really (Unfortunately, I never had the fortune and the pleasure of knowing her really well), is ill.  I’m a little embarrassed that I’m so oblivious and absorbed in my own world that I found out so late.  She was having surgery to have 2 brain tumors removed, and that was the first I had heard of it.

About a week after her surgery, I receive an email from her for one of the charitable organizations she’s involved in, and she was asking for help for a gentleman that had currently met some rough circumstances, and it just blew me away.  With everything she is going through, she is still thinking of others… and I just thought, wow, this is the type of person I hope to be insha Allah.  So kind, and so selfless and so humble.  It’s a little overwhelming to think about, because I don’t know if I would be as gracious and selfless under those circumstances. 

Every day, there is something new to get caught up in.  And certainly, many of the things we dwell on, the things we focus on, are worldly things.  They’re often material, and fleeting, and ultimately a distraction from what’s truly important.  Religion, health, family, friends, our neighbors and our communities, etc.  They cause jealousies and insecurities and take up time and energy that can be used towards doing some good, for ourselves and for others.

This young lady, she has an excuse to be distracted, but she isn’t, and I just think, what’s my excuse. Sure my kids are crazy 🙂 but I think it’s important, at the very least, to start appreciating and taking note of all the blessings that have been bestowed upon me and my family, and focus on thinking positively and doing positive things (insha Allah). And for that reminder alone, she is my hero.

May Allah (swt) protect us and our families from sickness and hardship, and may we be content with all that we have (and don’t have) and may we be a catalyst towards doing good and helping others, even when our inclination pushes us in another direction…

2 thoughts on “My Hero…

  1. Ameen.

    I think she is my hero too Hala…I don’t know her at all, I’ve met her once and she was absolutely the most pleasant person I’ve ever met in my life, masha Allah.

    I hear about her and her goodness from the people around me who are her friends, and it’s incredibly motivating to even know about someone like that.

    good post…..

    Reply
  2. Oh Allah, please do not hold me accountable for what they say, make me better than what they think, and forgive me what they do not know about me. You all inspire me every day, and I pray we can help each other grow insha’Allah. I love you all so much for Allah 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

