Things I am Thankful For – My Siblings (#4)

I seriously cannot imagine my life without my brother and sister.  They are such a huge part of my life, and a large part of how I became who I am.  Omar is 26, and Noha is 22.  Both characters in their own right- both very different from each other, and very different from me.  But we all still manage to get along somehow 🙂  It’s funny how much we fought as kids and how one day, it all snapped into place, and how close we are now. 

We have our moments, but the nice thing is, we can get annoyed and 5 minutes later we’re asking each other what do you want for lunch.  It’s nice having that comfort level where you KNOW the other person isn’t going anywhere, no matter how annoyed or angry they are at you, and regardless of the problems and mistakes, some way, some how, it will work out insha Allah.  It’s sort of like your parents, but the relationship takes on more of a friendship. 🙂  It’s rare having that level of comfort and confidence with anyone outside your family because there is always the possibility, however slight, that they can leave you or not forgive you for wrongs done.  Doesn’t mean family should be treated haphazardly…not at all.  I think a lot of times we treat strangers better than we do loved ones, using niceties and words of praise more liberally…please, thank you, etc.  But I think those words should be given out most to the ones you are closest too.  These relationships should be cherished and nurtured because of how valuable they are.

I was the oldest growing up, 5 years older than my brother, and almost 9 years older than my sister, so in some ways, I was like a mini parent and it gave me my first taste of parenting and responsibility.  In retrospect,I really liked taking care of them…I still do actually 🙂  They are one of the highlights of my life, and I’m blessed that I have them through the good times, and the rougher moments alhamdu lillah.

Love you both 🙂

3 thoughts on “Things I am Thankful For – My Siblings (#4)

  1. hahaha I’m actually working on it 🙂 Crazy weekend. Didn’t get more than 2 lines down and wanted to put some thought into it 🙂 Love you sal, you fall into #4 🙂 and btw, in a previous post I said they are in no particular order, I just wanted to try to do one a day, which I haven’t been able to do yet. Who knew kids could take up so much time!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

