What Is It About 20 Somethings??

So I know I’ve been MIA for a while, but keeping up during Ramadan has been harder than I thought.  The good news is, I’ve been spending less time online.  🙂

Anyway, this is a new article in the NY Times Magazine.  It’s long, but worthwhile.  Talks about the latest phenomenon of prolonged adolescence or as they call it “emerging adulthood” that we see in today’s 20 somethings.   I’ve honestly noticed it significantly more in boys/men vs. girls/women.  I do agree with one of the critics of “emerging adulthood” in that it’s not a universal phase that should be newly recognized in the world of psychology (the same way adolescence was 100 years ago), since many 20 somethings around the world don’t experience it.  I think it’s more of a result of Western abundance, and indulgence combined with economic circumstance.  Nevertheless it is a phase that is very real in Western cultures at least, and I don’t think it’s necessarily for the better. 

Anyway, happy reading 🙂

http://www.nytimes.com/2010/08/22/magazine/22Adulthood-t.html?_r=6&pagewanted=1&hp

Leave a Reply

