Project Reverb 2010: Day 7 – Community

 A few days behind 🙂 Playing catchup – so here it goes 🙂

Prompt: Community. Where have you discovered community, online or otherwise, in 2010? What community would you like to join, create or more deeply connect with in 2011?

Author: Cali Harris

 The 2 places I have most felt a part of “something” is my halaqa/usra…which is sort of a religious study circle/book club made up of some of my nearest and dearest friends.  It’s my safe haven, it’s my place of comfort, it’s one of the highlights of my week :).  Each person is unique in their own right but we share this common dependence on and love for one another that makes it all the community I need sometimes.

Online…I started a mom group a few years back, and it’s grown quite a bit over the years – but I guess the common thread is we have no clue what we’re doing and we learn as we go – and it’s nice to learn from others who have already been there, or to feel like you’re not the only one who feels a certain way.  I don’t even personally know a lot of the members now, but there is a sense of caring and support and community that I am really blessed to have.

I think over the next year, I hope to continue to find niches where I belong (or have them find me) where I feel comfort and support.  There’s really no specific plan, or path, or “community” I’d like to belong to.  Sometimes you find yourself involved or engrossed in something – without all the planning and foresight, and other times an interest or a passion guides you down that path.  Right now…I don’t really know for sure what I’d like to be doing over the next year or where I’d like to “belong” :).  I’ll let you know when I get there 🙂

Leave a Reply

