Project Reverb 2010: Beautifully Different

Think about what makes you different and what you do that lights people up. Reflect on all the things that make you different – you’ll find they’re what make you beautiful.

(Author: Karen Walrond)

I had so much trouble with this one…I think of myself as pretty ordinary.    It’s funny when you take the time to really think…”why in the world do people like me?” 🙂  I mean, I think I’m pretty nice – maybe even kind of funny on occasion.  I’m no genius…but I’d like to think I have some substance 🙂  I wish I was fantastically artistic or had an enviable talent… but alas – I don’t 🙂   I think my sensitivity…and consequently my sensitivity to others helps me empathize with those around me.  It’s not exactly different, I think most people have it to some degree, but I do think I’m more sensitive than most (sometimes even to my detriment).   Often times, I really feel people’s pain as if it’s my own, and if I encounter a hardship,  if I can, I really try my best to be supportive and help others avoid going through that same thing.  I’m not sure it really makes me very beautiful 🙂 but I think relating with someone, even if it’s something dark, fosters a certain kinship…even with people you barely know.  So more so than beauty…maybe it’s just that I’m – relatable???  Either way, having these feelings…makes me feel human – in the greater sense of the word.  So, I try to embrace it, and I think those who know me may even think I’m beautiful for it :).

Leave a Reply

