Project Reverb 2010: Wisdom

What was the wisest decision you made this year, and how did it play out?

(Author: Susannah Conway)

To be honest, I haven’t felt all that wise in 2010.  Between the sleepless nights and trying to get my life together, it’s all one big blur.  9 times out of 10 I can’t remember what I did yesterday – let alone a week or month(s) ago 🙂

I guess one of the biggest decisions I made this past year was with regards to my family was trying to incorporate more natural and/or organic foods into our diet, trying to cook/bake from scratch more often, finding a doctor who is open to incorporating natural approaches and remedies as part of our medical needs, etc.  Don’t get me wrong – I am far from the holistic mama – I have a long long way to go.  Some indulgences are just too hard for me to give up (who doesn’t have a soft spot for Oreos!) 🙂  BUT,  to my surprise, I found that the changes I did make went largely unnoticed (thankfully), and in many ways, were embraced by my family.  During the summer we had fresh smoothies and juice at least a few times a week, and my kids loved it.   They’ve never had soda…ever, and I hope it stays that way.  I’ve tried to eliminate juice drinks, and I try to stick to those that are 100% juice if I’m not pureeing it myself.

Cooking takes a little longer, but I found the efforts were well worth it.  I figure, even if I cooked just one or 2 more wholesome meals a week, it’s better than nothing, because, the junk will find its way into our diet somewhere :).  From a cost standpoint, it was definitely more expensive, but again, a worthwhile investment.  I try to get organic milk, natural/vegetarian fed eggs, whole grain pasta, depending on the fruit/vegetables, some I try to get organic (particularly berries or root vegetables), more all natural, whole grain snacks, etc.  Again, it’s far from perfect – a drop in the bucket compared to some people I know.  There are a lot of things that I’m sure would be considered sub par to the holistic, organic purists out there :), but I’m satisfied with what I’ve done so far, and I think I’ve just become more aware of how important it is to make an effort to do things myself because so much of what we eat is laced with things like high fructose corn syrup, various dyes, and/or other “fun” additives.  You have to wonder if the growing problems we’re seeing with our children from a developmental and hyperactivity standpoint have something to do with this sort of diet.

Leave a Reply

