Inna Lillahi Wa Inna Ilayhi Raji3oon…

“Do not think that those who died in the cause of Allah are dead; they are alive at their Lord, enjoying His provisions. They are rejoicing in Allah’s grace, and they have good news for their comrades who did not die with them, that they have nothing to fear, nor will they grieve. “
(3:169-170)
إنا لله وإنا اليه راجعون

I knew as my phone beeped at 6:30 this morning…I just knew.  Rehab had passed away after a long battle with cancer, and after the initial shock, I cried for the first time at all since I knew about her whole ordeal.  I think for a long time, I never really thought too much about it, other than checking on those closest to her to see how she was doing and how they themselves were doing.  I didn’t realize that I’d never allowed myself to wrap my mind around it.  It wasn’t until I emailed a friend the other day, who didn’t know her…that I felt the lump in my throat…and even then, I tried to keep it short and brief and not to dwell too hard on her reality.

She was one of those people I instantly liked and always looked forward to seeing, but unfortunately I hadn’t had the privilege to know her better before her illness took up much of her time.  I really liked her.  Something about her that just resonated with me. 

So this morning, as the words sunk in, I was so incredibly sad.  Not for her really…masha Allah…she was amazing, and although I cringe when I think of her suffering I have no doubt that Allah will bless this amazing person with the highest of Jennah insha Allah.   I’m sad for her family, her husband, her friends….I’m sad for me.   She’s the kind of person whose presence just made you better…who made you want to BE better, and people like that are so incredibly rare…that there is now this much needed void that will probably go unfilled… 

I could go on lauding all the wonderful things she did for others in need, even in the depths of her illness, all the great things she started in our community, how her smile lit up a room, how her kindness and complementary words made me instantly love her and feel connected to her, but my words will never do her justice.

May any suffering and discomfort she experienced erase whatever sins she may have had.  May Allah grant her the highest levels of Jennah iA.  May her family’s hardship and suffering increase their hasanaat, and may they have comfort in the fact that how much she was loved in this dunia is only a reflection of the immense love Allah (swt) must have for her…

You will be missed my dear…

Janazah today at ICPC after salat al-Dhur (12:20 PM)

2 thoughts on “Inna Lillahi Wa Inna Ilayhi Raji3oon…

  1. Subhan Allah, I’ve been feeling the same way all week, I think because of the same reasons. Especially yesterday after my husband and I went to visit. I felt that everything else I did yesterday was frivolous. The best thing she did for me at least, is that she taught me how to live a full, selfless life, rely on Allah no matter what, and to touch the lives of those around me. I ask Allah, when it’s our time, to bless us with as much duaa as He blessed her with. On that day, it’s only our actions and consequently the duaa of those whose lives we’ve touched that will benefit us.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

