25 (actually 35) Things About Me

I get these all the time so I thought I’d take the time to give it a shot.  Funny thing is…I wasn’t sure I could hit 25 🙂
 
Here we go:
  1. I’m a terrible speller.  God bless the inventors of spell check. 🙂
  2. I miss my friends more than they know…
  3. I hate chic flicks, although I’ve slowly learned to tolerate them.
  4. I’m more of a romantic than I let on.
  5. I’m a little awkward on the phone….and consequently I don’t enjoy it much.  There are really only a handful of people I feel completely comfortable with on the phone.
  6. I’m pretty bad at keeping in touch, but nothing makes me happier than reconnecting with someone I really like.
  7. I’m really hard on myself.
  8. I think 3-D is overrated.  In fact, after a while, it gives me a headache.
  9. The older I get, the less desire I have to make new friends.
  10. The people I love, I love intensely.
  11. I think fruity teas should be banned.  They’re not real tea. I’d include decaf, but they are a necessary evil for the nursing, the pregnant and the insomniacs out there.  However, I will allow them iced…but they’re still not real tea. 🙂
  12. I love a “good deal”.  When shopping – nothing beats the thrill of a bargain.
  13. If I could do it all over…I would have been an architect…or something in foreign affairs.  I have this deep love for beautiful, old intricately crafted structures and the cultures that brought them into existence, and I would spend all my spare time traveling the world to see them if I could.
  14. I love interior design the way some people love fashion.  I’m really picky about how things coordinate and would rather go with bare walls, windows, floors, etc. than settle for something that I don’t love 100%.
  15. I can spend hours in Bed, Bath & Beyond. 
  16. I love when Maalik catches a stranger off guard with his perky friendliness.  Always puts a smile on their faces – and mine.
  17. I really never got into reality TV…and don’t think I ever will.  Same thing with celebrity news/tv…I just can’t get into it.
  18. Reading is one of my greatest joys, even when I’m reading something sad or depressing or silly and inconsequential…it’s something I savor.
  19. I love flowers, although I think I’ve killed almost every plant I’ve ever owned (except the mini cactus by my kitchen window at the moment).
  20. One of my biggest pet peeves is when people make noises slurping their soup (or make noise eating any food that shouldn’t illicit a noise…but soup just kills me)
  21. I’m obsessed with lemon/lime flavored anything .  And I’m equally obsessed with anything jalapeno flavored. 🙂
  22. I love all sorts of music but if I had to pick, my all time favorite band would be U2.  Smashing Pumpkins might be a close second.
  23. I was a somewhat picky eater as a kid, but since high school I’ve been surprisingly pretty adventurous with food.  I love trying new things.
  24. I was really artistic as a child. Sort of sad I never kept up with that…
  25. Being (quietly) in the presence of nature is more spiritually fulfilling and humbling for me than almost any other activity. It’s a shame I don’t get to do it more often.  I really feel like I connect with the Creator in those moments.
  26. I am tone def.  I have a pretty unattractive singing voice, so…I don’t  argue too much when Maalik asks me to stop singing in the car.  Jibs on the other hand, LOVES my singing 🙂  (now we know who the favorite is :P)
  27. I love the sound of my children laughing. I think it’s one of my favorite sounds in the whole world.
  28. Despite how crazy they are at times, I love that my kids have personality (alhamdu lillah) 🙂  The craziness is a worthwhile price to pay (most of the time :)).
  29. I think I (sadly) have the theme song to every children’s cartoon on PBS memorized, and probably every episode of Curious George, Sesame Street and The Cat in the Hat memorized, as well.
  30. I think chivalry, kindness and intelligence are incredibly attractive. And a good sense of humor of course 🙂
  31. I love beautifully crafted anything.  I don’t care who made it, what it’s made of, or how much (or little) it costs.  Beauty is beauty and anything someone took the time and energy to create into art deserves admiration. 
  32. I hate cold weather.  I’ve never liked playing in the snow, and I’ve never had the slightest interest in any cold weather activities.  On the other hand, the sun and warm weather instantly put a smile on my face.
  33. I’m pretty clumsy and am lucky I’ve never broken anything more than my toe.
  34. In elementary and middle school, when I played softball, I was surprisingly good at hitting the ball, and surprisingly bad at throwing it.  I was usually out in left field somewhere.  Ball didn’t come to me very often, but when it did, good luck having me throw it far enough to get it where it needed to be in time :P.
  35. I’m pretty handy.  I don’t mind assembling and fixing things.  I actually kind of like it sometimes…  I’ve become pretty well acquainted with the local Home Depot and Lowes 🙂
 
2 thoughts on “25 (actually 35) Things About Me

  1. It’s a little scary how much of this stuff applies to me. Must be mama and baba’s fault! This isn’t to be nice but you are NOT tone deaf trust me. You don’t know the definition of tone deaf if you think you fall under that category. You could probably make it past round 1 of American Idol 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

