Running With Scissors

So I’ve been meaning to write about this book for quite some time but got sidetracked with…life 🙂

Anyway, I came about this book by accident.  I read a book by the author’s brother, John Elder Robison called:  “Look Me in the Eye:  My Life with Asperger’s,” which I found touching, insightful, entertaining, and well written.   I really recommend it to anyone who wants a glimpse into the mind of someone with Asperger’s.  I really enjoyed it.  I figured, his brother might give a different perspective on their rather dysfunctional upbringing, and thus, I came to “Running with Scissors”.

Don’t waste your money.  If someone let’s you borrow it…don’t waste your time.  Just don’t read it.

I don’t say that often, even if I don’t like a book, I generally find some redeeming quality about it.  I can generally appreciate that someone else may actually enjoy it.  This wasn’t one of them.  For starters, it’s so bizarre, it borders on unbelievable.  You can’t actually imagine some of this stuff ever happening (and going unnoticed by neighbors, etc).  It’s disturbing because it DID happen.   It’s odd because he tries to turn this very odd, abusive, dysfunctional childhood into some sort of comedy? (and might I add, rather unsuccessfully), and it’s a little TOO sexually explicit.

Reviews describe it as entertaining…a comedy – perhaps a dark comedy, etc.  I don’t think I cracked a smile once.  If it was fiction, it would be too odd, and off base to be believable and to pull off successfully.  As a memoir, a work of non-fiction, the fact that this stuff actually happened is really disturbing.  The people in this book aren’t cute, kooky characters…they are mentally disturbed, and I think it’s weird (borderline distasteful) for the author to try to portray them as anything else.

Maybe this is his way of coping with what happened to him as a child, and I honestly feel horrible for him for having to endure such an upbringing.  But an entertaining comedy this book definitely is not.

Leave a Reply

