A Thousand Splendid Suns

I love this book.  For more reasons that I can probably put to words.  I think I read it in 2 days (and for anyone who sees what my days are like, that’s quite a feat :)).  The character development is spot on…the writing is brilliant.  You are seeing recent history through the eyes of two extraordinary women in this novel.  I can’t tell you enough how much it touched me, and how saddened I was when I got a real understanding of what life in the past 30 or 40 years in Afghanistan was like.  What the people of this nation have endured is beyond what anyone should have to endure…

I was also angered…on so many levels.  So often I’ve heard intellectuals talk about how religion is a crutch for the simple-minded …to explain the ways of the world.  But  I’ve actually come to experience quite the opposite.  Religion isn’t for the stupid or the ignorant.  There – I said it.  They ruin it.  Something that should be about fostering peace and contentment through connecting with one’s Creator often gets wrongfully distorted into something ugly in the face of ignorance.  If it incites violence or anger or oppression…then you don’t get it, and you’re doing it wrong.  In the case of this book, I’m talking about the Taliban and other groups within Afghanistan and how they intertwined Islam with their tribal ignorance and basically contributed to the oppression and ruin of their nation.  You even see it in the West with right-wing evangelicals inciting hate against Muslims, illegal immigrants, gays, and other minority groups.

Anyway, I highly recommend the book.  It’s not only a lesson in history, but an ode to women and how beautiful and strong they can be in the face of such darkness.  I can’t wait to read Kite Runner

3 thoughts on “A Thousand Splendid Suns

  1. Gmta! I also read this book in about 2 days and ended up finding out I was pregnant and my daughter was named after the main characters’ daughter.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

